Skip to main content

Account Management

Whether you're an agency helping clients set up their site search or a webmaster managing multilingual sites, you can keep all your search projects easily accessible yet separate, so you and your colleagues can manage the Site Search 360 settings in a flexible way.

Projects vs. Accounts

A project is a search index (collection of search results).

An account can have one or multiple projects if they relate to the same website, but the search indexes should be kept separately.

When to create a new project

Use projects for:

  • multiple language versions of the same website
  • a dedicated test project for your staging environment

When you sign up for a free 14-day trial, we automatically create an account and your first search project associated with the website domain you've specified. The email you provide becomes the account owner, so all subsequent projects created within this account will also be attached to this email. Go to Account -> Projects to add new projects.

When to create a separate account

Team permissions apply across every project within an account, so keep unrelated websites as separate projects under separate accounts rather than combining them in one account.


Inviting Users and Permissions

Team permissions are managed on the account level.

In your project, go to Account > Projects, and click the "Manage Team" button in the upper right. You can then choose which permissions are granted and enter one or more email addresses to invite new user(s).

Invite users dialog

Permissions are managed on the account level, meaning all permissions granted to a user apply across all projects under the same account.

You can also modify the permissions of any existing users or remove them completely from the list.

What do the permissions mean?

Basically, every user with a certain permission can access the related section(s) under that permission, as well as edit every setting within the section. For example, if a user has the permission to access Indexing Settings, they can see and edit every subsection related to indexing, e.g. Website Crawling, Content Extraction. It is not possible, for example, to give a user permission to only a subsection, e.g. only Data Points access.

Can I invite users with read-only access?

Yes, you can invite users with read-only access if you do not grant them any permissions. Users without any permissions have access to Dashboard, Search Preview, Account, and Feature Map without any editing rights. The only thing they can edit is their personal data (name and email address) in the Account menu.

If a user gets a link to a section they don't have access to, the user will be automatically redirected to the Dashboard with a warning message that they have no permission to access this section.